2015 December Holiday Party with TCDP

Holiday Celebration
Tuesday, December 8, 5:30 – 8:00pm
The North Door
502 Brushy Street, 78701
Admission is FREE, but please bring canned goods for the Capital Area Food Bank.
Facebook Posting for additional details and to RSVP

Instead of a December meeting, join us to celebrate the holiday season. We will be joining the Travis County Democratic Party, Austin Young Democrats, Black Austin Democrats, South Austin Democrats, and Central Austin Democrats for a central Texas holiday celebration! Bring a friend. We look forward to celebrating with you!

November 2015 Meeting

November Club Meeting: Tuesday, November 3, 5:30pm
Location: Ruiz Library, 1600 Grove Blvd
Speaker: Jere Locke, Climate Change Resolution

October 2015 Meeting

Our October club meeting is just around the corner. We’ve got a great speaker lined up and have some important club business to share. We look forward to seeing you there!

Sarah Wheat
VP for Community Affairs
Planned Parenthood of Greater Texas

Tuesday, October 6th, 5:30pm

Twin Oaks Branch Library
1800 S. 5th Street

2015 Club Happy Hour

Tuesday, September 1st
5:30 – 7:00pm

Donn’s Depot
1600 W. 5th Street

Instead of our normal club meeting, we are celebrating with a happy hour for club members, friends, and supporters. Are you a member? Or want to see what CAPD is all about? Are you a Democrat? A believer in progressive causes? We look forward to seeing you on September 1st.
RSVP on Facebook

August 2015 Meeting

Join us this Tuesday for our monthly meeting. Our speaker is Jennifer Denton who will be speaking about Austin’s Vision Zero Task Force. Vision Zero is working to end traffic deaths and serious injuries. Come hear about the plans to make our streets safer for everyone, including pedestrians and cyclists.

Ruiz Library
1600 Grove Blvd
Austin, Texas 78741


21st Anniversary Celebration – Photos from Event

  • July 26, 2015
  • Events

If you didn’t attend our annual celebration, you missed out! If you were there, you know the fun everyone had. Thanks to Joan Brook Photography for these wonderful images of the event!

CAPD Officers 2015-2016

Cecilia Crossley – Chair/President
Rick Cofer – Vice Chair for Endorsement
Sean O’Neill – Vice Chair for Membership
Edward Garris – Secretary
Deena Estrada-Salinas – Treasurer
Eva Gonzales – Editor-Newsletter/Website
Ken Craig – Program Committee Chair
Catherine O’Neill – Communications Chair
Barbara Rush – Fundraising Committee Chair
James Nortey – Counselor
Saurah Tabrizi – Youth Liaison

Many thanks to those who have agreed to serve on the CAPD Board for the 2015-2016 year.  And thanks to those who have served our organization in 2014-2015:

Ken Craig thank you for serving as the President for these past three years. Your leadership help to reinvigorate CAPD civic, moral and progressive involvement in the Austin Community by encouraging our active participation and support of affordable housing in Austin. You help to put CAPD at the forefront of the affordable housing movement and asking and helping our city leaders to focus on making Austin an affordable community for all of its citizens.

Chantal Eldridge thank you for your enthusiastic participation in CAPD this past year as our Secretary. Your positive approach to working with people and dealing with issues help to provide an open and comfortable atmosphere when CAPD met.

Ellen Hansen we will miss you as our Program Chair, you did an outstanding job of bringing in speakers at CAPD meetings who help to educate us about issues that impact our community, ranging from, asking our city and/or county to implement a program calling for the creation of Sobriety Centers to hearing presentations from organizations like Green Doors who help to provide housing for a variety of people struggling with poverty/homelessness, including veterans, persons with disabilities, and single parent families.

Dona Tabrizi thank you for taking on the difficult and often thankless job of Fundraising Chair.  We are appreciative of the work and time you put into fulfilling the responsibilities of this position.

John Lipscombe, Gerard Washington, and Laura Kolstad you are valued behind-the-scenes players within our organization, thank you for your participation, support and encouragement this past year.